RV Price Avg. price per ton: R4 606.99  D'Factor: 0.417206 June 2020-2021

Our History

The History of SA Canegrowers

Sugarcane has been grown and milled in South Africa for over 154 years.  The first Grower organisation was formed in 1877 and during the next 50 years, a number of regional grower organisations were established.  These were not unified with a common purpose.

On 9 August 1927 the South African Cane Growers’ Association was established as an Association Incorporated not for Gain in terms of Section 21 of the Companies Act.

Various other associations representing cane growers from the Zulu, Indian and coloured sugar cane communities were also present at that time.  This led to a fragmented and non-unified cane growing industry.  One voice was needed to speak on behalf of all cane growers.

After consultative debate within the various Grower groups, a major constitutional milestone  was achieved in 1992. In effect, the organisation structures of the KwaZulu Cane Growers; Association, Natal Cane Growers’ Association and the Mangete Cane Growers’ Association were incorporated within the South African Cane Growers’ Association which is known as SA Canegrowers.

The SA CANEGROWERS of today is a non-racial, apolitical organisation representative of all cane growers in South Africa.  It is the national organisation which represents South Africa’s 23 866 private cane growers.

2017 marks the 90-year anniversary of the South African Cane Growers’ Association.

Important Facts

  • Industry 154 years old
  • First Grower Organisation 1877
  • SA Canegrowers Formed 1927
  • Representation 23 866 private growers