SA Canegrowers

SA Canegrowers elects 2023/24 Board

Press statement by Andrew Russell

Chairman – SA Canegrowers

At the SA Canegrowers’ Annual General Meeting on 7 June 2023, SA Canegrowers launched phase three of its Home Sweet Home campaign encouraging consumers to buy locally produced sugar. The association also launched a digital pledge for consumers to commit to help save the industry and the one million livelihoods it supports. 

The event presented an opportunity for members to reflect on the triumphs and challenges of the past year. Notwithstanding the many challenges growers faced, the industry could reflect with pride on the production of more than 18 million tons of sugarcane with a value of R12 billion for the 2022/2023 season.

Members also had the opportunity to have frank conversations about the work that lies ahead, including the resolution of the milling crisis, the progress of the Home Sweet Home campaign to restore local demand, and the development of a regulatory framework for diversified sugarcane products. 

An election was held to appoint the leadership that will direct this work for the coming year. The new chairpersons and members of the SA Canegrowers Board for 2023/2024 are:

Chairman:       AM Russell (Andrew)

Vice Chair:       NS Mzoneli (Kiki)

Vice Chair:       PH Mdluli (Higgins)

Directors:        GDP Littley (David)

DH Lütge (Dieter)

MM Msimango (Mfundo)

TJ Lubisi (Thobani)

TJ Murray (Tim)

ST Naidoo (Suresh)

DR Ntuli (Dipuo)

P Sharma (Pratish)

TB Sibisi (Tim)

GD Stainbank (Graeme)

REG Talmage (Rex) (SASA Vice Chair Nominee)

We take this opportunity to thank outgoing board member, Rejoice Ncwane, for her service on the Board of SA Canegrowers.

Media Enquiries: 

Kabelo Kgobisa

081 874 2573